≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

Okay, so this time I’m going to really try to follow the rules. We are supposed to make a list of accomplishments, things we did during the week. I think up to this point all I pretty much did was post random photos of stuff I want to buy and to let the world know that I had diarrhea.

So linking up with Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets, here is this week’s Week In Review! On Monday, we had a picnic. I wrote about it here.

On Tuesday, I cleaned the house like crazy and then packed up some sandwiches and snacks and we took the kids out on the boat.

img_0450

img_0451

We got the boat at the end of the season so it kinda sucks that we haven’t been out on it that much, but it gives us time to stock up on toys for next year (I’m dying to break my leg wakeboard!).

Then on Wednesday I ran a tonne of errands and by the end of the day I just felt like such a swamp donkey. I had white hairs poking up around my hairline and the ends of my hair looked and felt like straw. I got Andrew to chop about four inches off the back. It feels much better. Here’s the before:

fullsizerender-616

And here’s the during:

fullsizerender-617

I haven’t taken an after pic yet. The whole shebang cost me about $9 for cut and colour! I’m only emotionally high-maintenance.

I can’t remember exactly what I did on Thursday but I know I posted this photo on Instagram so I must have done some writing at some point! I have to fit it into my life somehow!

fullsizerender-618

And of course, while the kids were at school, Callum and I played at the park, where he swung on the big boy swings for the first time ever!

fullsizerender-619

And spent some good quality time relaxing at home…

fullsizerender-620fullsizerender-621

I met Freddy’s new girlfriend Christina and then Freddy asked me on Friday if he could go to her house after school. This was how our conversation went:

img_0407

I wish I could show you the conversation I had with Jake on Instagram. OMG. I can’t. I want to so bad, but no. He’s turning 16 next week. Teenagers will kill me. I keep putting my fingers to my neck to check my pulse. I’m barely hanging on.

I put my own parents through hell when I was a teenager and they’re still kickin’ strong. Here’s a super cute pic of my daddio in his Vancouver Grizzlies jersey. I love his grin.

img_0414

The weekend was filled with schlepping kids around to dance class and soccer games, and then I met up with Lora for a long run on Sunday (she’s training for a race and needed to do her 20 miler). It was a busy and fun weekend!

Do you guys ever remember any of your really important big city teams playing the Vancouver Grizzlies when we had an NBA team?

We sucked so bad but they were such fun games to go to.

How often do you cut/colour your hair? How much does it cost?

{ 34 comments… add one }
  • Russ September 19, 2016, 9:15 am

    I get a haircut about 1x/month. Colo(u)ring my hair – free. Although when my Dad says to me “wow, you’re really getting gray” I’m wondering if it’s time to cruise over to Amazon for bulk purchases of brown Sharpie markers or something.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 10:40 am

      I’m secure enough to admit that I have used brown Sharpies in a pinch.

  • Una September 19, 2016, 9:26 am

    I get my hair cut once every 6 months because I’m lazy af and I actually hate getting my hair cut. It takes an hour and it’s SO boring and I hate making small talk with my stylist (even though he’s awesome). There’s so much more that I’d rather be doing, but it’s so necessary. Ugh, that reminds me, it’s been a year since I’ve had my hair cut. I should probably make an appointment. It costs me $55 plus tax and tip and because my stylist doesn’t shame or guilt me for being a lazy asshole, and because he always knows what to do, I usually tip atleast 20%.

    I only just started colouring my hair because the greys have been there for years but have just started creeping towards my hairline and making themselves visible to me. Every 4-6 weeks, using a demi-permanent colour, which costs me less than $5 per use.

    I’m totally emotionally and physically high maintenance!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 10:40 am

      See, I’d love getting my hair cut. I even like going to the dentist because for one hour of my life I get to sit in a comfy chair and have someone ELSE take care of ME. They could be tattooing cock n balls all over my face and I wouldn’t even care.

  • Helly on the Run September 19, 2016, 11:01 am

    I’m a big nba nut so of course I remember the Grizzlies, lol! I love that your dad sports that shirt with pride. So awesome

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 12:30 pm

      Yes! Do you remember Big Country, that huge ass white guy that looked inbred? He was a gem.

  • Heather Shoberg September 19, 2016, 11:02 am

    I get my hair cut for about $45 every 2 months or so, depending on the cut (I like to mix it up) and I color my own hair. I don’t have the money for anything fancy! :p With my latest hair cut it brought to light some grey hairs I didn’t even know I had, so now I’m going to have to be even more diligent on the whole coloring front. 😉

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 12:30 pm

      Hair cuts/styles have a way of doing that, eh? I had this whole entire crop on one side of my head where my crown is and I didn’t notice it until I did this goofy double bun thing. It was traumatizing.

  • Amy Lauren September 19, 2016, 11:09 am

    I get my hair cut when I receive a coupon in the mail. No lie.

    Looks like you had a great week and i love your conversation about the hospital in 9 months!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 12:29 pm

      I think I remember you telling me about the hair coupon thing. That is RIGHT up my alley. Love it.

  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets September 19, 2016, 11:34 am

    I think my favorite part is the quality relaxing time at home. Today Ave and I are having a Pajama day because we’ve been so active lately we just need to chill. 🙂

    Also don’t worry about sticking to rules for WIR. The idea is to celebrate any and all accomplishments. Working, showering and feeding yourself and others are all huge feats in my book.

    I want to go wake boarding, without broken bones please.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 12:28 pm

      Wakeboarding is SO FUN. So is sitting around in jammy jams all day. I haven’t yet left the house but today is a day filled with accomplishments. I’m slaying my to-do list. Did I say that right? I think “slay” is another term for having sex. Weird.

  • Megan @ Meg Go Run September 19, 2016, 11:55 am

    Awww Callum LOOKS like a big boy on that swing! I want his life. Can’t wait to see your hair after pic. 🙂 I need to color mine. I get Loreal coloring from the Dollar General. It is $3. I would really like to get it legit colored and highlighted sometime (I have a lot of grey) but it’s just soooo much money. And it’s not even like it’s a one time thing that lasts for a year, so that’s why I am hesitant. I like your weekly wraps! It’s fun to see what is going on! I would like to do them but I feel like I get into so much detail on my weekends that no one wants to hear my weeks too.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 20, 2016, 10:03 am

      I’m the exact same way. I know if I start getting it professionally done then I won’t be able to stop and I hate spending money on stuff like that. It’s like it’s better that I just don’t know what I’m missing.

      The key to week in review is to just pick a few things to highlight, or pick a theme. Lots of pictures help too.

  • Susie @ SuzLyfe September 19, 2016, 12:01 pm

    I cut my hair about 1x year, and I get it colored 1x a year/2years. Really, I just get it evened out, but I will only go to my colorist back home, plus I’m cheap and if I do it when I go home, Mom will pay for it:D

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 12:27 pm

      Oooh, nicely played.

  • Gretchen September 19, 2016, 3:27 pm

    Next summer Dan and I are going to come back to Vancouver to visit you and we’ll go out on the boat…OK?! And we might not leave this time.

    I only get my hair cut about once (maybe twice) a year..never colored it (yet) and I go to a fancy-ish place, so it costs around $50 with tip. It’s such a nice experience and since I don’t get it done that often it’s like my pampering treat! They even give you wine when you’re getting a head massage..come on now! Now send me an “after”!!!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 6:35 pm

      Only in “America” (<--- remember you asked me if Canadians get offended by that? ha ha) would you ever get served wine while getting a head massage. Oh, I'm sure there are places up here that do the same---they just charge $1500 per person, and everyone gets shittered and sent home in a cab naked.

  • Patricia @Sweet and Strong September 19, 2016, 3:54 pm

    I hate the feeling when I desperately need a hair cut. I usually do cut and color every three months and it’s about $130 plus tip. I hate paying that much, but it makes me feel so much better!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 6:33 pm

      It’s a fresh feeling, for sure. Kinda like cleaning out the pantry. I totally get it.

  • Lisa @ Running Out Of Wine September 19, 2016, 4:10 pm

    I rarely color my hair because I hate paying for it. I usually just get it cut twice a year and I go somewhere cheap. I don’t get anything fancy done so it always looks decent enough.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 6:33 pm

      Practical, smart, and beautiful Lisa as always. 🙂

  • Wendy@Taking the Long Way Home September 19, 2016, 5:04 pm

    I color my hair every 4 weeks. And I’m not ashamed. I’d be ashamed if I didn’t because I’d look like a freaking old hag. I’m so not ready for that.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 6:32 pm

      It’s super hard to pull off a few inches grey roots while remaining sexy and elegant. The hag-o-meter definitely hits the all-time high.

  • Ellie Pell September 19, 2016, 5:25 pm

    I only cut my hair like once a year. Same with color and then I just let it grow out. Usually I do a color that’s not too crazy so the grow out looks natural 😉 Or that’s what I tell myself.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 19, 2016, 6:30 pm

      I love how much we can trick ourselves with! Our minds are so smart! Or stupid. Wait, what?

  • Allie September 20, 2016, 2:33 am

    Love all the adorable pics of Callum!!!! OMG. It makes me (almost) wish my boys were that small again.
    Cut and color every 4 weeks and it costs $100 bucks so that is quite the bargain woman!!!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 20, 2016, 7:23 am

      Yes, see?!? $100 is pretty normal up here too for cut and colour. And yes, Callum is adorable. He’s intense, though so like as much as he’s cute and cuddly, he’s also…… uhmm….. energetic. Yeah. 😉

  • Tami Griffiths September 20, 2016, 2:52 am

    OMG I love reading all your comments! LOL I only cut about three times a year, and I’m a stylist!! I work alone and I don’t want to owe anyone for doing mine so I swap cuts with my girlfriend from Beauty School I met 28 years ago cause I know we were trained the same way! Hahaha…. I color myself about every 6 weeks, you never know what may occur each time cause I don’t like to be bored! And every time I read that you all pay $50 plus for a haircut I think why the hell am I not charging more for my 28 years of experience?!?! ?

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 20, 2016, 7:22 am

      Well, seriously I know people who get cut and colour here and it comes to over $100. I’m not sure if it’s just the area we live in or what. But yeah, don’t be afraid to ask for what you are qualified for! DO ITTTT.

  • Laura @ This Runner's Recipes September 20, 2016, 7:42 am

    Boating looks so fun, especially with that scenery!
    I’m a sucker for a good Aveda cut. I love how their products smell even though the cuts are expensive, like $55. But I don’t color my hair and don’t get manicure/pedicures, so I justify it that way. I’ll also go like 5-6 months between haircuts.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 20, 2016, 8:53 am

      Oooooh I love Aveda too!! Their pomade smells SO GOOD.

  • Christina @ The Athletarian September 20, 2016, 11:09 am

    LOL. That text message exchange. You are seriously the funniest mom.

    I don’t cut my hair often (maybe 2-3 times/year) but it costs me about $85 (before tip) JUST FOR A CUT. I haven’t started colouring yet. I am obsessed with my hairdresser and I will go to him forever, no matter how much he charges me. Things are going to get steep once I start getting greys but what the hell. He makes me feel like a supermodel and is also very entertaining so it’s worth it to me!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com September 20, 2016, 1:06 pm

      It’s like with anything and anyone–once you develop a connection, the relationship becomes priceless! Sounds good to me!

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: