≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

Welcome to another Week in Review, hosted by my friend Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets. I first fell in love with Meghan because of her cat Oscar.

img_5147

But then as I got to know Meghan, I realized that she’s not too bad herself. I’m not usually pulled toward the whole food blogger thing, but she inserts enough inappropriate material through her posts to keep me interested. Plus, the food she makes is dope, and easy to follow (even for those of us in toast burners anonymous). But, before you leave here and ditch me for a food blogger, here’s this week’s Week in Review:

It worked out that I had my side of the family’s Thanksgiving dinner on the Tuesday night rather than the actual weekend. Andrew had to work, but Jake brought his friend and roommate Isaiah, and my mom and dad were able to join us as well! As you can see, taking self-timed photographs is not my gift. Freddy was missing from this one…

fullsizerender-667

So we squeezed Freddy (and the reflection of the sun on his face) into this one:

fullsizerender-668

Just before the weather started to turn, I took Katie and Callum to the Apple Barn after school one day. Nobody was there, and it was SO MUCH FUN.

fullsizerender-671

fullsizerender-669

fullsizerender-670

fullsizerender-672

Once it got stormy, we stayed inside and kept cozy. Brandy has supernatural amounts of patience with Callum. She lets him tug on her whiskers, kiss her eyeballs and drive his cars and trains along her back.

fullsizerender-666

I’m putting this picture in here because it gives me all the big feels. Callum pushes our heads together and tells us to kiss and hug. And when we’re snuggling, he just stares up at us and smiles from his guts. One night I had climbed onto the futon with Andrew to cuddle and I guess Callum started snapping pictures of us with my phone and this is one of them:

fullsizerender-665

Lora and I used to race together quite often but in the last few years, we both trimmed down the number of races we do. Lora focuses on a trail race around Cultus Lake held every October. It just so happens that the 10K CARES run landed on the same day as her trail race, so we had fun “getting ready” together on Saturday morning. We sent pictures of ourselves (not showing those ones lol) and texted each other all sorts of… inspirational messages.

img_1261

I think we decided that we need to run a race together one day soon. The last race we ran together was the Fort Langley Half in July 2011 where we finished a couple minutes apart. That was over FIVE YEARS AGO! This has to change.

The race went really well on Saturday! I am posting a recap tomorrow.

The change in weather has brought in a few viruses, so we’re just trying to get lots of sleep. I’m still cooking and eating veggies like a champ and chasing them all down with gallons of water. I’ve honestly never felt better. Keeping up with my 100 push-ups has helped my core so much too. It’s amazing how the little things like this can make such an impact on our lives!

Do you like racing with friends or would you rather race on your own?

Americans—do you guys have big plans for Thanksgiving? Which weekend in November is it? Why do we have two different Thanksgivings?

 

{ 20 comments… add one }
  • Susie @ SuzLyfe October 17, 2016, 12:35 pm

    I’m actually a little miffed that my usual Thanksgiving is going to be totally awry this year because we are spending it with Alex’s family, but the good news is that my bro and mom are coming up for part of it.
    And it is the last Thursday of November.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 17, 2016, 12:50 pm

      I love the term “miffed.” I haven’t heard it in a long time. I’m glad your mom and brother will make it up at some point. PHEW.

  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets October 17, 2016, 1:03 pm

    I’ll run a race with you and by that I mean I’ll meet you at the finish line with a Corona. 🙂

    I kind of like you too. Blows kiss. Aw hell with that, you get a sloppy wet puppy dog kiss.

    Callum and Brandy gives me all the feels. Oscar is ok with her being close, but not touching. Samantha (the white one) just looks at Ave like she has five days. One day….

    You’re still eating healthy?! Damn, I’m impressed. Make those bars I posted last week. They’re freaking awesome and actually pretty healthy.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 17, 2016, 6:31 pm

      I’d get a sub-3 hour marathon if I knew you (holding a Corona) would be waiting for little old me at the finish.

  • Megan @ Meg Go Run October 17, 2016, 1:14 pm

    I’m not sure why we have two different Thanksgivings?? Ours is *always* the 4th Thursday of November. It is nice because then most people get Friday off work/school too. And if you live in PA, you also get Monday off for the first day of doe season. Yes, we get off school for the first day of DOE. How freaking back woodsy is that. I suppose it’s just certain districts in PA. After all, they say Pennsylvania is basically Philadelphia and Pittsburgh and in between is Kentucky. I live in the Kentucky part… hence all the effing TRUMP signs I saw on my run on Sunday…

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 17, 2016, 6:31 pm

      I wonder why they (who is “they” anyway?) picked a Thursday for a holiday? Kinda cool.

      I actually have no idea where all those places are. As far as the States go, I can point out Washington State, Oregon, California and Arizona. I’ve been to Boston, TWICE, and all I know is it’s in New England. Ha. I’m a toolbox.

  • Ana October 17, 2016, 1:38 pm

    I love that you had a second thanksgiving! I do the same with my son. Except, we end up going to a place called simply turkey for the dinner, because nobody feels like cooking the whole turkey dinner all over. This year he is with his father, so I will be useless for the whole weekend. To keep from melting down, I’m going to schedule at least one race.

    Your apple Barn looks a lot like our corn maze!

    I can’t be trusted with what day Thanksgiving is, for the first 10 years I lived in the USA, I was always confused on why it wasn’t on November 26th every year.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 17, 2016, 6:29 pm

      Ahhh divorce is hard. I had such a difficult time when my kids would go to their dad’s house. I still struggle with it, actually. BOOOOOO. SUCKS.

  • Lisa @ Running Out Of Wine October 17, 2016, 2:49 pm

    I cant wait for Thanksgiving, although I feel like that is the beginning of winter which I am not excited about. We are staying local this year which makes me very happy. Nice job with the push-ups/core work/veggies!!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 17, 2016, 6:28 pm

      I think the American Thanksgiving is WAY better than the Canadian version. I think I’d like it a lot more if I lived down there! It’s kinda no big deal up here. Christmas is more front and centre in Canada.

  • Ange // Cowgirl Runs October 17, 2016, 2:53 pm

    I’m a member of Can’t Freaking Cook Rice, anon, so I feel ya.

    I pretty much only run with friends as of late because I haven’t ‘raced’ in AGES and I’m perfectly fine with that.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 17, 2016, 6:14 pm

      I used to be a part of that club but I bought a rice cooker and now I’m a pro! LOL

      I’m not much of a racer either, and I do like mostly running alone.

  • Laura @ This Runner's Recipes October 18, 2016, 5:19 am

    Thanksgiving is just nine days before CIM this year so I am not going to be shy about the carbs. Not that I ever am, because carbs are one of the best parts of Thanksgiving.
    I am super impressed with your push ups!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 18, 2016, 9:15 am

      The first marathon I ever did was on our Thanksgiving day, so I came home and thought I could pig out on food but my body felt so off that I couldn’t eat much, which was so disappointing. The timing of CIM is perfect for you, so you can eat like crazy and then use the food to fuel your race! Boom. Just like that.

  • Helly on the Run October 18, 2016, 1:13 pm

    I liked Thanksgiving growing up but now it’s tough with having so many places to “have” to go to.

    I like racing with friends but now I’m not sure I’ve ever done that–like race race a friend? Trying to beat them kind of race? Or just running a race with a friend? <—I've done that. I've also had friends pace me. I actually have a go-to friend who does that and I want her to pace me when I attempt to BQ sometime in the next year and half but she's trying to have a baby. Ugh…..

    Wanna pace me? 😉

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 18, 2016, 8:10 pm

      Your question made me think! I don’t think Lora and I have ever raced against each other. But we didn’t race WITH each other, either. Lora and I have just this unspoken agreement where we go out there, race hard and whatever will be will be. We’re both very much independent runners; we don’t like running with people or with running clubs or anything. The only reason we run together is because we like hanging out as friends and since we both have to run anyway, and we lead super busy lives, we kill two birds with one stone. We’re also very anti-female chicks. Like, we don’t fight, we don’t wish the other person looks ugly or fat, and we really just full on cheer for the other person no matter what. I have no idea why I was gifted this woman in my life and I am so lucky to have met her and to have a relationship like that. I LOVE LORA. She doesn’t even read this. She doesn’t even read my blog posts! And I love that about her too. We’re a good match.

      Helly, I’d pace you in a hot second. Andrew and I love Arizona and if you let me know when you want me down there, I’ll make it happen. I promise.

  • Gretchen October 18, 2016, 4:13 pm

    I usually spend Thanksgiving with my family but this year they’re all going to Florida to visit my grandparents and Dan will be in Salt Lake City for work training, so I guess I’ll be at home crying into my vegan stuffing.

    (just kidding about the crying part;)

    • Gretchen October 18, 2016, 4:14 pm

      ps- sluttttt

      • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 18, 2016, 8:12 pm

        HA HA HA HA! OMFG you’re the best.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 18, 2016, 8:12 pm

      Stuffing is such a good choice for the absorption of a good solid cry. Plus, you can emotionally eat it right after. Win-win.

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: