≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

Here I am, Super Suzy, with a Week in Review post all written out and it’s only Sunday night (I’ll publish it tomorrow afternoon once everyone gets bored of my Mileage Monday post). Week in Review is hosted by the most lovely Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets. She’s my veggie guru, and her Snapchat stories make my uterus flutter. Her daughter is SO CUTE.

It was one of our anniversaries on Monday, the third year anniversary of our ring ceremony that we had when I had Callum in my belly! Our kids and our families were present and we had such a meaningful time. I’m so glad we videoed it! Look how little everyone was (and BIG I was!!!) back then! I HAD BOOBS.

img_1426

We went to El Nopal on Monday night to celebrate, and then came home and watched the video of our vows and ring exchange.

fullsizerender-687

Freddy plays for a soccer team in the next city, so on Thursday night Andrew watched Callum so I could bring Freddy to his soccer practice and Katie came with me because Lora lives out there and she said we could stop by and hang out with her and her two boys. I picked up a bottle of wine that was called “Thanks For Putting Up With My Crap.” It seemed fitting. Lora puts up with a lot of my crap.

fullsizerender-688

At some point during the week when I went to the grocery store, this bag of dicks decided to park in a handicapped spot without a pass. I took a picture, and then waited for him to come out to his car. It was a woman, and we had some words. I hate confrontations, so I probably sounded like a ninny but I don’t care! I had to say SOMEthing.

fullsizerender-686

On Friday, we were supposed to go to my sister Tracey’s house for a birthday party for my mom, but the whole evening ended early when I couldn’t even make it to Katie’s Halloween dance production because of a road closure. I didn’t even make it in time to pick her up from her dance class! I was sitting in this spot for over 45 minutes, not moving AT ALL.

img_1416

We stayed home and ate chicken wings, and my niece came over later on and stayed the night. I felt like this after the beer and wings:

fullsizerender-685

I spent Saturday snuggling with my biggest little man. I love how he fell asleep holding onto my shirt!

fullsizerender-684

Then I picked up Freddy to take him to his soccer game, drove 45 minutes to the game to find out that the lights didn’t come on so they called the game and we had to drive all the way home again. FOR NOTHING. I was grumpy. We ended up sprinting over to Sneakers for 30 minutes to meet up with friends of ours. I laughed so hard my face hurt. Andrew bought king kong shots for the table!

We watched Kylah’s soccer game on Sunday in the sun, and then spent the evening getting lunches ready and dinner made. Halloween is tomorrow night, and it is NOT my favourite holiday.

img_1439

I think that’s pretty much it for my week!

Have you ever had a king kong shot?

Do you like Halloween? What are your plans?

{ 27 comments… add one }
  • Megan @ Meg Go Run October 31, 2016, 10:45 am

    No clue what a king kong shot is! Sucks you missed the recital. 🙁 I freaking hate traffic. You had a busy week like always! As you know, my hood already had trick or treat so I feel like Halloween is over… although the kids are wacky at school today because they trick or treat night over here… So confusing!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 12:31 pm

      It’s got banana flavoured liqueur in it. It’s pretty dece although not for the weak stomachs. It’s quite sweet.

  • meredith (The Cookie ChRUNicles) October 31, 2016, 11:18 am

    I don’t love Halloween but I always liked the chocolate 🙂

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 12:31 pm

      Same. *burp*

  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets October 31, 2016, 12:05 pm

    What is in a King Kong shot? I’m fascinated.

    Ave and I don’t nap together, mainly because she hates naps. Occasionally, I can get her to snuggle into my chest on the couch, with her head tucked under my chin. This lasts about 30 seconds until she pops her head up like a ground hog and head butts me in the face. Good times.

    Cats make me happy. Traffic makes me want to shank someone. That is all.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 12:30 pm

      I’ve always loathed the term, “I slept like a baby” because babies don’t frigging sleep! Callum still naps but I pay the price with a super late bedtime. Like, 11 pm. Callum smoked me in the lip with his head about a month ago and gave me a fat bleeding lip!

      I wish my cat liked to travel with me in the van because it sure would help me cope with traffic stress.

  • Ana October 31, 2016, 12:54 pm

    Your comment above about “sleeping like a baby”^… I tell people that only those who haven’t had a baby use that phrase. Roger used to tell me that he slept like a baby and I would ask “you woke up every two hours hungry and with a poopy diaper?”

    I like Halloween… but mostly because we didn’t celebrate it growing up. We celebrated Dia de Los Muertos, and mentioning Halloween was an offense to all the grownups.

    I love the picture of the whole family on top!! That is an amazing family pic!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 1:21 pm

      I laughed out loud at the woke up every two hours with a poopy diaper part. SO TRUE. I think I’d rather celebrate the Mexican way. If it includes refried beans and Corona, then it’s pretty much the perfect holiday.

  • Gretchen October 31, 2016, 12:56 pm

    I would talk to your gyno about a fluttering uterus…sounds painful 😉

    Also- please tell me that after your confrontation with non-handicapped lady you said “sorry”….cuz #Canada

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 1:20 pm

      I probably did, Gretch. I probably said sorry before I started talking to her, and then I probably said sorry for bothering her at the end of it.

  • Ange // Cowgirl Runs October 31, 2016, 1:35 pm

    Look at you, writing -ish in advance! Woohoo!

    I absolutely ADORE the new Church & State wine labels. It’s also one of my favourite wineries in BC.

    Of course the chick with a Porche is an entitled asshat. What the shit. ugh. Good for you. I’d probably also be shaking when confronting her.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 2:04 pm

      Oh, my heart was POUNDING. Major armpit sweating too.

  • Jo @ Living Mint Green October 31, 2016, 1:49 pm

    Oh, you make me lol. I love that you waited for that bag of dicks to come out of the store. lolz

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 2:04 pm

      Well, it’s kinda interesting how I assumed it was a guy, eh? Shame on me for that! Sorry, guys!

  • Lisa @ Mile by Mile October 31, 2016, 4:34 pm

    I used to like Halloween but now I don’t like dressing up. Its fun seeing the little kids trick or treating though!
    I cant believe you said something to the person about the handicapped spot. Good for you, but I am so not confrontational so it makes me nervous just thinking about it.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 5:09 pm

      I’m not confrontational about most things. I’m very open-minded and give so much grace to the point that I actually look stupid and feel like a doormat but once in a while there are things that come along that trigger me, and this is one of them! I was super nervous though. I don’t like it, but I did it in the hopes that she would never do it again. But I can only hope. And I was super nice about it because my main goal was to get her to not do it again. If I approached her in an inflammatory way then she’d probably get so pissed off and do it again and again just to “stick it to me.”

  • Helly October 31, 2016, 5:13 pm

    I love Halloween because I’m a geek and love any excuse to wear a costume. I don’t even eat any candy! I know, who am I!?!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 5:28 pm

      I loved it as a kid, for sure. I used to spend all month long making my costume. I LOVED that part of it, I think because I’m a creative person. Kids these days are so much more dependent on their parents for everything (costumes, money, fireworks, driving them places, entertaining them, etc) which essentially steals the creative part right out of Halloween and I think THAT is what bothers me the most.

  • Susie @ SuzLyfe October 31, 2016, 6:12 pm

    Banana flavored anything is a no. I only like to nibble on pieces of frozen banana. Otherwise, pass. I will also pass on traffic. That sucks that you missed the recital!
    I think I am going to be a unicorn for all future Halloweens. It was the way to go.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com October 31, 2016, 6:33 pm

      I think you should be a banana next Halloween.

  • Nonrev Snihctuh October 31, 2016, 9:45 pm

    Because we’re in a 55+ gated retirement community, we don’t get any Halloween kids. But I wore my saran wrap outfit anyway, just to please Mom.
    And I just deleted a whole paragraph I wrote about fluttering uteruses. Thank you Santa for helping me see the light.
    Maybe they’ll give me a day pass tomorrow.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com November 1, 2016, 8:37 am

      A lot of uteruses would flutter AWAY at the sight of you in a saran wrap outfit.

  • Laura @ This Runner's Recipes November 1, 2016, 5:29 am

    Halloween is not my favorite holiday but it doesn’t seem to be as big of a deal out here than it was in the Midwest. We had a grand total of one trick or treater last night and Ryan tried to give her a banana.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com November 1, 2016, 8:37 am

      Ryan’s a fly guy. I like him.

  • Corry November 1, 2016, 8:56 am

    I have been know to confront people that litter or eat out of the bulk food bins. Some people are just plain stupid!!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com November 1, 2016, 1:00 pm

      There’s this lady that stands on a busy corner in NY city and whenever anyone throws garbage out their car window, she picks it up and whips it back at them into their car. It’s on a YouTube video somewhere. I keep meaning to look it up.

  • San November 2, 2016, 9:29 am

    Happy anniversary 🙂 Glad you got to celebrate.

    I never heard of a king kong shot. Is it good?

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: