≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

Well, we spent the majority of this week in the bathroom and for once it wasn’t because I had diarrhea, but because Callum started pooping on the potty. Hallelujah. I posted a couple of stories about it on Instagram but I’ll spare you guys from the photo proof here. Other than that, this is this week’s Week in Review hosted by my mothersisterwifefriend Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets, who kindly tagged me in this post:

We started out with gorgeous weather. As usual, Callum hijacked my phone and took pictures. This time, for once, he left the cat alone, maybe because he was so distracted by the fact that we finally have sunshine!

Jake got into see the specialist on Wednesday and he doesn’t need surgery! He got a new cast, which eased a lot of his discomfort. He chose a hot pink waterproof one! I forgot to take a picture.

I managed to do a few stroller miles with Callum, and Andrew and I got in a few evening runs together, which was so great. We signed up for a half marathon in Arizona at the beginning of April! We are SO excited about that and now Andrew is extra motivated to get in some runs.

Callum and I spent a lot of time together at the park and in the bathroom. He finally went poo on the potty. He turns three in a couple of weeks and I was just like, no. No more poo. Just no. So, that was a huge success. Katie and I took him to WalMart and he got to pick out a toy, and then we went out for dinner and ice cream (mostly ice cream). One day last week he was just super tired and asked to go to bed. It was 1:30 and he doesn’t nap anymore but I just felt like he needed it, so we snuggled and he went straight to sleep.

We paid the price later on that evening, though, when he refused to go to bed before 10pm. So, we went to Starbucks, got him a chocolate milk and a cake pop, and sipped on some coffees.

Lora and I ran 12 miles together on Saturday and we literally, and I mean literally talked the entire time. We both finished and didn’t even remember running. After that, Katie, Callum and I picked up Jake, grabbed some coffees and went to visit the pregnant and nursing cows at our local dairy farm. Random, I know. This was one of the babies:

We dropped Jake off and then headed to the park.

The good part about rain is that it washes away the snow and it makes mud puddles!

I took Callum to Fort Langley on Sunday, or rather, I should say that Callum took me. He lives and breathes for the trains there. There is one train that stands still; it’s an antique and so Callum loves climbing on it while we wait for the real train to come by. We spent a lot of time walking around, jumping in puddles, eating lunch (outside, because there were no tables available inside!) and pretty much freezing to death until finally one came by.

The weather sucked, but we had boots, hoods and umbrellas and just made the best of it. Clean boots are overrated. Mud is always a sign of a good time.

Sunday was also the day of the Fort Langley half marathon, a race I have done nearly every year since it first existed. I missed it this year, but that’s okay. I want to give a shout out to my friend Tammy, who was also the nurse who helped deliver Callum three years ago! She ran her first half marathon this morning. I am SO happy for her. WTG TAMMY!!!

I think that’s it.

Do any of you guys have an armpit sweating problem? You’ll know that you do if you’re hands and feet are freezing, your teeth are chattering, but your third top layer of clothing has armpit sweat marks.

Have you ever seen a cow give birth?

What are you drinking at Starbucks right now? Has anyone tried the smoky butterscotch latté?

{ 24 comments… add one }
  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets February 20, 2017, 11:25 am

    I rarely ever drink Starbucks but when I do, I go all out with a White Chocolate Mocha with two extra espresso shots and all the whipped cream. Yes! Now I want coffee and sugar.

    I’m so proud of Callum. I can’t wait for the day when Ave is done with diapers…I think we have a long way to go.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:27 pm

      HELL. YEAH. Exactly what I’d order if I don’t get the plain dark roast.

      Like all things, diapers have pros and cons.

  • Susie @ Suzlyfe February 20, 2017, 11:51 am

    Yay Tammy! Yay Jakey! Also, I want to see that cast. He is so cool. I want to spend the day in the bathroom… er Starbucks with you.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:26 pm

      OMG I can’t believe you just called him Jakey. Unless it was a typo. We called him that for yeeeeears and in fact, he still gets called that once in a while!!! I feel like it’s a spiritual thing! Ha ha ha. Not. But kinda, if you squeeze your eyes almost shut and think about it in a dark room.

  • Heather February 20, 2017, 12:45 pm

    I’m usually not a Starbucks person, but I got a gift card and I love the Cascara Latte!

    Also… I absolutely have the armpit sweat problem. I can be freezing cold, but it’s guaranteed that I’ll be sweating like a pig no matter what. Sigh.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:24 pm

      I’m going to try that latte! I used to work at Starbucks years ago and they’ve come out with so many fancy things since then. I need to start crossing them off the list!

      Can I just tell you that I am so glad you have an armpit sweating problem too? Just checked mine. Yup. Right through a long sleeved tee and a zip-up hoody. Ahhiiiiight. We got this.

  • Jamie@TheMomGene February 20, 2017, 12:52 pm

    Pooping in the potty is my dream. If I could build a solid gold potty that would lure the twins in, I’d do it. If I had to spend all the money in the world I’d do it. Charlie’s probably not ever going to be fully potty trained, but to knock it down from 3 to 1 would me magic.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:21 pm

      Three… whew! Okay this totally reminds me of when Jake was 20 months old and I brought Freddy home from the hospital. Little Freddy would have this sweet little bum with little breastmilk poops. And then Jake would come along and drop a giant brown bear in his diaper and I’d be like, NO. THIS IS WRONG. I’d change his diaper and his bum would be this giant adult-looking bum pressed against a giant adult-looking poo. The only reason Callum went this long was because it’s convenient to just let him go in his diaper when we’re out and busy. I AM LAZY.

  • Lisa @ Mile by Mile February 20, 2017, 12:57 pm

    I usually just stick with black coffee at Starbucks, unless its too late in the day for all that caffeine and then Ill go for a latte.
    Thats great news that Jake doesn’t need surgery! And congrats to Callum!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:18 pm

      Thank youuuuu, Lisa! I like strong coffee with a bit of cream in the mornings and then black coffee in the afternoons. Once in a while, if I’m hungry, I’ll order a latte or mocha or something but I’ll slam a few extra shots in there just for (literal) shits and giggles.

  • Amy Lauren February 20, 2017, 12:59 pm

    Hooray for Callum going to the potty!

    I went to Starbucks today because I had a Star Dash for a cold brew coffee… and they were out of it! The guy ended up charging me for that and giving me an ice coffee so I could get the stars at least. I like the regular coffees with a shot of mocha. I’m really not a fan of milky or creamy drinks so I typically avoid the lattes. Sometimes I will get a light mocha frappe for a treat.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:17 pm

      Damn. You reminded me of a total douchey thing I did once. I had a gold card for Starbucks under my old married name and I had SO many rewards on that thing, but then I held a grudge and refused to use my old name for anything, and I cut it up and tossed it. Annnnnnnd ended up paying $67558.09 per coffee for it under my new name. LOOO-ZERRRRR.

  • Megan @ Meg Go Run February 20, 2017, 2:23 pm

    I can’t even imagine how ecstatic you are about the pooping in the potty. Go Callum!!!! 🙂 And that is awesome that Jake doesn’t need surgery.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:12 pm

      Diapers are more convenient, for sure. I feel enslaved to the bathroom, but I know it’s only temporary. And yeah I’m super stoked about Jake’s arm. What a relief.

  • Wendy@Taking the Long Way Home February 20, 2017, 5:06 pm

    I don’t drink at Starbucks very often…but hey, pooping on the potty is awesome!!!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 20, 2017, 5:11 pm

      I should really follow your lead and not drink at Starbucks very often either. I’d save a LOT of money.

  • Corry February 21, 2017, 4:58 am

    No armpit sweating problem here, but a head/face sweating problem. Seriously, like a sprinkler the second I start exercising. I get very red too, so a really nice look at the gym.
    I’ve never seen a cow being born, but saw one being slaughtered as a child…very traumatic! That cow would not die! It’s no wonder I don’t eat meat.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 21, 2017, 6:16 am

      Totally reminds me of my friend Alain. I’d run with him and he sweats so much that his sweat would flick off of him and land in my face and stuff. Good thing he was so nice.

      TRAUMA ABOUT THE COW. TRAUMA TRAUMA TRAUMA. Awful. I wouldn’t be able to handle that. I am so sad for you.

  • Laura @ This Runner's Recipes February 21, 2017, 5:33 am

    That’s great about Jake not needing surgery and hooray for Callum! I rarely go to Starbucks but when I do, I get black coffee.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 21, 2017, 6:15 am

      Borrrrrrringggggg. Ha ha jk.

  • Ana February 21, 2017, 11:21 am

    Callum would LOVE to visit Strasburg PA! there is a train museum, a train to ride, and Thomas the Train comes 3 times per year!

    Roger has that problem… in the winter he is always cold, but sweats a lot.

    I’ve never seen a cow give birth, but I’ve seen a chicken lay an egg.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 21, 2017, 11:23 am

      Oh no WAY!!! Thomas comes 3 times per year!?!?! Callum would FREAK!

  • Una February 21, 2017, 7:55 pm

    I’m jealous that Callum is pooping on the potty. The OG doesn’t have any interest in hers, unless it’s to stand on to reach the sink.

    I’ve never seen a cow giving birth but I’ve seen a pig, AND I’ve seen my mom, elbow deep inside said pig!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com February 22, 2017, 6:21 am

      Oh, don’t worry. Callum didn’t care to poop on the potty either and then all of a sudden he was game. When they’re ready, they’re ready.

      SO COOL about your mom helping the pig give birth! I’m glad you were able to witness it, even though you were probably freaked out at the time. I think it’s amazing!

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: