≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

I texted Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets, the fine host of our weekly Week in Review, that I feel like a bit of a farce because I don’t really give all the dirty details of what really happens around here each week. It’s so frustrating because I put such an emphasis on being real because I love how much my stories help other people and I’d honestly die if anyone reading my stuff ever came to the conclusion that my life is a lot fluffier than it really is. So I guess I have to come to a truce with myself (my lower half is much stronger but my upper carries some brain tissue so it evens out) and just be okay with not telling everything. But, hang tight because I heard there’s been some media leakage around here so you may just be getting an inside scoop after all.

This is where I really need to insert a photograph. Dammit, blogging is tough. Here’s one of Lora and I from a long time ago. We sang karaoke that night. Christy is there too but she was probably getting hit on by someone off to the side of the camera. Hopefully not by the guy in the Hawaiian shirt. Where were we, anyway? That pub looks seedy af.

Can I just say something totally off tangent? Yay! Okay so see the wrinkles around my eyes? I LOVE THEM. I love it when people have them! I super huge adore smile wrinkles. If I could, I’d spread them on toast and let them drip down my finger. I don’t like the sun spots from all the years of obsessive tanning, but I love my smile wrinkles.

This is supposed to be about my week. Can you tell that I don’t have anything to say? Well, I did a day in the life of Monday last week and you can read about it here. The rest of the week was pretty decent, actually. I am in a huge organizing mood. I donated 6 bags of clothing/linens, got rid of a few bags of broken toys and miscellaneous garbage, and? I CLEANED OUT THE HOTYSSEY. My van was absolutely disgusting. I felt like I needed to offer people tetanus shots each time they got out of it.

But… I didn’t take any before or after photos. DAMN.

My sister Lori took her kids and Katie to a cool lodge in the middle of nowhere for the weekend. They picked Katie up on Thursday and she’s coming back today. While she was gone, I organized her room and put a little mattress on the floor in the corner for Callum to sleep. To say he loves Katie is an understatement; he loves her more than he loves me. Seriously. So we’ll see if he sleeps in there tonight.

Does this even qualify as a week in review? Man, I do a shitty job of blogging.

In case you’re wondering if the sun has come out at all lately, IT HASN’T. I’m pretty sure that God is getting me back for all the times that I didn’t clap during the singing segment at church.

I think I should probably stop typing now.

Anyone else in a Spring cleaning mood? What else should I tackle?

What kinds of secrets do you think I’m harboring? Wouldn’t it be great if I told you that Andrew wears women’s underwear? Or that I work as a stripper once all the kids go to bed? NOW we’re talking. Man, my life is dull.

Favourite Easter candy?

If I really was a stripper, I’d pick Peeps.

{ 17 comments… add one }
  • meredith (The Cookie ChRUNicles) March 13, 2017, 10:48 am

    it’s nearly impossible to tell everything that goes on in our lives in a blog post. I wish I was in my spring cleaning mode. I have to do my son’s room (again) and I have been avoiding it because cleaning his room leads me to every closet in the house lol

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 13, 2017, 4:18 pm

      It’s tough to stop once I start. I feel ya. I get this self-loathing thing going on when I see how disgusting things are and then I just mow through the house like a bulldozer.

  • Amy Lauren March 13, 2017, 11:48 am

    It’s totally fine NOT to tell all the details of daily life. I definitely don’t… I try to keep my blog running focused because I don’t want to bother everyone in my life with “being on the blog”. A lot of people just don’t want to be all out there on social media or blogging.

    Favorite Easter Candy: Cadbury Mini Eggs. Target has some that have cookies n cream filling in them and they are delicious!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 13, 2017, 4:15 pm

      ARE YOU SERIOUS!?!?!?!?! The States has EVERYTHING.

  • Susie @ Suzlyfe March 13, 2017, 12:24 pm

    😀
    ;D

  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets March 13, 2017, 12:46 pm

    Bring on the Peeps, the stripper version that is since I can’t stand those spongy weird bunnies with beady eyes. I will take some Reese peanut butter eggs though.

    You cleaned the van. Hot damn, I’m impressed. You win life. Wanna come clean mine? It’s horrific and I want to get it down this week because we’re road tripping to Buffalo this weekend. It should be no problem, until you throw in a baby and a pending winter storm. Dun, dun, dun.

    You could write anything and I’d be riveted. Well except the word anything and nothing else because honestly that would be boring.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 13, 2017, 4:14 pm

      I don’t like the Peeps candy either. Blech. I haaaaate driving with a baby. Freaks me right out. I can’t stand that helpless feeling when they’re crying and I can’t do anything to help them. And I can’t drink while driving either, so there’s that too. Heh heh heh. I’m a comedian.

      Anything anything anything anything. Riveted, my ass… you little sarcastic thing you.

  • Laura @ This Runner's Recipes March 13, 2017, 12:55 pm

    Um, cleaning any car much less a van is a HUGE accomplishment. I can’t remember the last time I did more than tidy up my Pilot and the dogs ride in the backseat all the time. It smells like a combination of runner and wet dog in there.
    Favorite Easter candy is anything Cadbury. I eat so much chocolate on Easter.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 13, 2017, 4:12 pm

      Cadbury makes the BEST chocolate!

      They make these seat covers for dogs to sit on. I’ve seen them around. You should get one of those!

  • Helly on the Run March 13, 2017, 1:55 pm

    Just so you know, you made my weekend.

    Anyway, I go back and forth about sharing my life beyond running on the blog. I’d write a lot more often if I did because you better believe a lot goes through my day/mind worthy of writing. But alas, I am influenced by what others might think of my crazy thoughts.

    I sound like a broken record, but I wish we lived closer. I am excited to see you soon though, and we’ve kind of been making it a once a year thing, so that’s sufficient enough I guess to satisfy my Suzy cravings.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 13, 2017, 4:11 pm

      It’s hard to know what to share and what not to share. I basically hold back things that would hurt anyone, me included!

      I wish we lived closer too, although Arizona would be our second home choice if we could have one, so at least we get to see each other! Phew.

  • Jamie@TheMomGene March 13, 2017, 6:17 pm

    I love eye wrinkles too!!! It means we’ve been more happy than most…or we stare into the sun a lot. I am NOT in spring cleaning mode. I am in ignoring all the clutter for life mode. And my favorite Easter candy of all time is Reese’s pieces in the carrot bags. I’ve already eaten one. There will be more.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 14, 2017, 2:18 pm

      You know, I never thought that maybe my eye wrinkles are not from smiling but from staring into the sun. DAMN!

  • Megan @ Meg Go Run March 14, 2017, 7:17 am

    I think it’s okay if we don’t tell ALL the dirty tidbits on our blogs. I mean, I feel like you are very real. You show the clean and the messy and I don’t ever get the feeling that you are putting on a show, you know?

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 14, 2017, 2:16 pm

      Okay GOOD! That makes me happy to hear that.

  • Wendy@Taking the Long Way Home March 14, 2017, 3:14 pm

    I don’t think your life is dull, it is full and busy. Maybe you don’t have exotic adventures right now, but dull? No. Really, it’s good.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com March 14, 2017, 3:46 pm

      Ha ha! Nope. Not dull. Heyellll no.

Leave a Comment