≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

It was our first full week of summer break! A nice, warm, bosomy thank-you hug to my opposite hair friend Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets who has most graciously hosted yet another Week in Review. <3

Oh, man…we’ve had such gorgeous weather here. It didn’t get above 30 degrees (about 84F) and no matter where we were there was always a breeze.

On Monday Andrew and I took Callum to the park by the dyke. He loves it there because he brings his trucks and sand toys and just plays beside us while we recline in our beach chairs. It gets fairly hot there but there was such a nice steady breeze so it was perfect!

It’s hard to fill up the days with things to do, especially things that everyone enjoys. It’s hard to find entertainment for both a 3 year old and a 15 year old. But, well, I bought paint. Freddy and Callum sat down together and painted up a storm. Can you guess whose paintings are whose?

Katie spent most of the week helping out at a local church camp for preschool kids. She’s an angel like that, however, she inherited some of my DNA because I was able to convince her to skip Friday and go to the lake instead. I took the kids and their friends to Cultus again and Callum made his own beach buddy.

One day while Katie was on angel duty, Freddy and Callum and I wasted hours of time and gas money driving out to the Apple store to return his earbuds that I got him for his birthday. They were $100! And this is the second time I’ve had to drive out there to return them! The right ear bud keeps crapping out. And then after all that they wouldn’t exchange them; I had to do it over the phone (a huge long process through UPS but whatever–it’s getting done). But we made the best of it and stopped by my parents’ house for a swim. Well, Katie and her cousin went swimming while Freddy and I visited my parents.

Have you guys seen the documentary, “What the Health?” OMG. If you love milk like I do, don’t watch it. I have to write a post just for this topic because I’m kinda freaking out about it. But anyway, I ordered a couple of cookbooks last week and I’m excited to get them and try out some new recipes! No, I’m not going vegan. I used to be all-or-nothing but I’ve swung back away from that mentality because it did me no good. I have to say though that I’m not going to be chugging a litre of (cow’s) milk every day anymore like I used to. BARF CITY. GAG ME WITH A TWELVE FOOT POLE. I made veggie “chicken” nuggets. I know, right? WHO AM I. More details in another post because this shit is getting long (TWSS).

Oh, speaking of vom, I made a green smoothie, chugged it, and then realized that I had obliterated a plastic bag and ingested the whole damn thing through my straw along with the spinach and cauli. Soooooo… I made myself throw up. I HAD TO. I got super anxious about it <—huge understatement and so I had to get it out of my body STAT. And so I did.

Yeah.

It was awful.

The weekend was pretty good. Callum had a couple of crappy night sleeps and ended up crashing on the futon under the front window right during the time that the gardeners were mulching and using chainsaws! That kid wakes up all night long but will sleep through that racket?! Incredible.

Have you ever eaten anything inedible?

Have you ever made yourself throw up?

Are you a heavy or light sleeper? What have you slept through?

 

 

{ 24 comments… add one }
  • Meredith @ the cookie chrunicles July 10, 2017, 10:31 am

    Omg. So much to say! First, love the paintings lol. I used to have the paint out all of the time when Benji was little. We loved to paint. And yeah, it’s hard to find that all around activity accepted by any age by painting definitely works. I haven’t made myself throw up and thankfully haven’t had to- I’m sorry you had to from that smoothie. I think one time I ate a peanut butter cup wrapper as a kid lol

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 5:22 pm

      That totally made me laugh out loud! Because I can just see it–as kids we’re so excited to eat peanut butter cups and they’re the same shade of brown as the chocolate!

  • Ana July 10, 2017, 10:56 am

    I read The Omnivore’s Dilemma a couple of years ago, and I couldn’t eat beef for about 1 month! and considered going vegetarian.

    Could you taste the plastic of the bag? it sounds terrifying! Roger once put the medal lid of a can in the blender, it killed his blender.

    I have eaten chicken mcnugetts, so I say it doesn’t get grosser than that! who knows that is in those things! oh.. wait! once I bought a bag of ball shaped chicken buffalo things, they looked delicious and I was very hungry!! so I made 8 of them, then took a big bite of one and it felt like a dirty dry sponge! I spit it out and dumped the rest of it.

    Katie is an angel! She is precious!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 5:22 pm

      Well, honestly, I really wish that this bag had killed the blender. It would have saved me the barf sesh.

      I’ve eaten McDonald’s chicken nuggets too. BLECH. It may even be worse than the plastic bag.

  • Megan @ Meg Go Run July 10, 2017, 11:53 am

    How did you ingest a plastic bag!?

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 4:54 pm

      Okay, so the blender puréed it, except yeah I mean I did notice a few chunks but that’s not entirely abnormal (I’m already wincing while slamming down frozen cauliflower and spinach in those things) and I had thrown a mandarin orange into this one this time, so I thought that the pieces of plastic were the pulp of the orange. The texture was kinda the same. So, yeah. That’s how it happened.

      • Wendy@Taking the Long Way Home July 10, 2017, 6:02 pm

        I’m glad Meg asked this question because I was thinking the same thing. Eww.

        My probiotics have a new smell, like plastic, and I’m wondering why–today I opened up the capsule and poured the powder in my smoothie. Thinking anything that smells that strong shouldn’t be ingested. I probably gave myself cancer by swallowing those things the last couple of week.

        • Megan @ Meg Go Run July 10, 2017, 7:08 pm

          I’m still confused. How did a plastic bag end up in the blender!?

          • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 8:58 pm

            We have a zillion people that live here, and 90% of them are 15 and under. Shit happens.

        • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 8:59 pm

          Oh, I’d get SO ANXIOUS about that! It’s a claustrophobic feeling. Just make sure you drink lots of tequila.

  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets July 10, 2017, 12:59 pm

    Those documentaries and books…oh man, they’re crazy and full of scare tactics. Yes some of the stuff is true and why I don’t drink cow’s milk hardly at all, but all good things in moderation. Try to buy organic when you can and it’ll all be ok.

    Sorry about the plastic bag and follow up vomit session. That sucks monkey balls.

    Also sending a great big bosomy hug back at you. I’ll send you a picture so you really know what you’re getting. 🙂

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 4:49 pm

      Yeah, I totally agree with you. I’ve got a much more sensible approach on things now than I used to!

      Thanks for the pic! 😉

  • Lisa @ Mile by Mile July 10, 2017, 3:57 pm

    I cant believe you drank a plastic bag! How did that even happen? Im glad you realized and got it out of your system! Ive never really liked milk although Ill drink it in lattes once in a awhile. I use almond milk in smoothies.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 10, 2017, 4:49 pm

      I have no idea how it happened. I guess I had rinsed the blender out and left it in the sink and then maybe one of the kids tossed something into the blender or something? I dunno. I’m actually trying to put it out of my head.

      I think it’s okay to drink milk SOMEtimes, but not like, every single day. Gallons and gallons, like I was doing.

  • Gretchen July 11, 2017, 5:17 am

    What the Health is on my netflix queue! I have a hard time watching those types of documentaries because I’m easily nauseated and I already know the gist of what happens/why dairy and meat is bad. Don’t need to see it too 🙁 Whats your recipe for the veggie nuggets???

  • Susie @ Suzlyfe July 11, 2017, 9:39 am

    I love that you painted a penis and then immediately mentioned Katie helping at church. hahaha.
    I am a heavy sleeper. I slept through multiple fire alarms during first year undergrad, boys yelling at the tops of their lungs playing drinking games (I was in the room, mind you) during 3rd year (at Alex’s place. To explain further, I was sick at the time), and a great number of other things.
    However, ask me if I can sleep through the night? Nope.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 11, 2017, 2:17 pm

      It was Freddy that painted the peen!

      Oh man, that must be frustrating. I’ve had insomnia issues for most of my life and I have to agree that nighttime sleep is the hardest to come by because there’s so much pressure! EVERYONE ELSE is asleep. We’re SUPPOSED TO BE ASLEEP. And well, you know me, right? I don’t conform.

  • Corry July 11, 2017, 4:18 pm

    You have got me very curious what the documentary says about cows milk.

  • San July 12, 2017, 5:16 pm

    I am not obsessed, but I love milk… in my coffee, as chocolate milk, in my cereal… and I think I am going to take your advice and not watch the documentary. Or should I? What am I putting in my body? It hasn’t killed me yet.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com July 12, 2017, 8:35 pm

      SAME.

Leave a Comment