≡ Menu
The Runs header image

Week in Review

Anxiety. This is pretty much how I’d sum up my week. I guess it’s normal to feel anxious at the end of pregnancy but I kinda hate it. My heart does this thing where it pounds in my chest and then stalls for a bit, catches up and then makes me feel all dizzy and weird. I’m jumping out of my skin at every single sound, and my imagination is betraying me with all sorts of scenarios involving, well…death and destruction. Pretty much. Just being honest. It’s fun to be me. I super love anxiety. Yay.

Our province is in a state of emergency (real, not perceived) because of wildfires, and our region is getting choked out by smoke because of the combination of the wind shift, the extreme temperatures and the lack of rain. Where we can usually see the farmlands, the mountain range and Mt Baker jutting out into the blue sky, all we can see from our usual vantage point at our favourite park is a smoky haze.

This past week we’ve had a couple of days where we have been advised to not go outside because of such poor air quality. I’m scared of having a baby in this shit. Seriously. He needs to stay in my belly and ride on the coattails of my big girl body’s filtration system until this smoke disappears.

Despite my desire to curl up into the fetal position myself, I fought off the bad thoughts and pushed through and had a pretty active week. Andrew and I took Callum down to Whidbey Island to see if we could escape the smoke but we couldn’t, but we still had a good time. We stopped at El Nopal on our way back, which is key to our survival, although, I can’t drink their margaritas which makes me so incredibly sad. Let’s bow our heads together and remember the good ol’ days, and the tequila-drenched days to come.

I got to run with Lora (Callum came along, which was fine–he loves her), and I was able to get most of my runs in while it was still super early before the air quality got really bad. I took Callum to my sister Tracey’s house and her twins played with and entertained Callum for hours! We had such a good time. I’m so thankful for their family! I was also able to visit my friend Christy, someone who has been near and dear to me since we were both about 5 years old. She just came back from having thyroid surgery in Quebec and she and her five kids showed Callum and I a good time. I’m so grateful to have a friend that feels like family, you know? Someone who knows me since childhood, who can read me like a book and knows exactly what I’m thinking before I even say it.

I also spent the week finishing up my to-do list before the baby comes. Just little things, here and there, that add up. I would still like to type up a couple of posts before the baby comes but right now I’m being very careful with my time and energy; I don’t want to completely wear myself out, and I need time to just be still before the big D day comes.

Callum and I drove out to my sister Tracey’s house to hang out with her family, and we had so much fun! Plus, there isn’t as much smoke out their way. Tracey’s twins played with Callum and he seriously felt like the king of the world over there.

On Sunday I got up and had coffee instead of a run because I had been up most of the night with anxiety. Lame. But my run later on was awesome, so it all worked out. Then I got to hang out with Jake for the afternoon–we grabbed some smoothies and went consignment clothes shopping. I love doing stuff like that!

I think that’s about it for the week. Thanks to my buddy Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets for hosting this week’s Week in Review! She’s a keeper!

Margaritas—blended or on the rocks?

Do you like consignment clothes shopping or does that gross you out?

Do you get claustrophobic?

{ 23 comments… add one }
  • meredith @ cookie chrunicles August 7, 2017, 9:47 am

    laura had told me last week about those fires – so terrible and I really hope it all clears up asap. I don’t get too claustrophobic, like I don’t have to think about it or worry about it but in a crowded elevator, I am definitely to happy!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:33 pm

      Oh, elevators are the WORST.

  • Una August 7, 2017, 10:11 am

    Margarita rocks, all the way. Not as much sugar, and I’m not really a fan of slushy drinks.

    I used to be big into consignment shopping, when I was Jake’s age, but now, I have second thoughts. I love vintage stuff, but never shoes (can’t put my feet in someone else’s shoes. Bowling does not sit well with me). I will, however, do consignment shopping for Olivia because new clothes for messy toddlers is silly.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:33 pm

      Omg SAME. Sharing shoes gives me the heebie jeebies.

  • Allie Capo-Burdick August 7, 2017, 10:24 am

    Anxiety is the worst. I get serious bouts of it and I’m not 38 weeks pregnant!! I feel for you woman. And that smoke? I couldn’t believe it when I saw that post in Insta. Just keep breathing indoors as much as possible and keep hanging out with great friends who love and take care of you!! xoxoxo

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:32 pm

      I think the smoke is letting up a bit. It seems to be, anyway. I can see the sun now, which is nice. SO FRUSTRATING THOUGH.

  • Laura @ This Runner's Recipes August 7, 2017, 11:08 am

    That smoke is awful – I hope your baby does wait until it’s all clear! You stay safe it also – and goodness, I hope it clears up soon.
    I am mildly claustrophobic. I skipped two spelunking trips – one in 7th grade, the other when I studied abroad in college – because the idea of narrow spaces in a cave makes me anxious.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:31 pm

      SPELUNKING? WHAT IS THAT?!?!?! I’m googling it.

  • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets August 7, 2017, 11:45 am

    I’ll take my margarita any way I can get it.

    I’m sorry about the anxiety and glad you have friends close by who can help give you a break and entertain Callum at the same time. Also good for you for conserving energy. I know you’ve been around the block on this pregnancy and baby business but I’m still impressed.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:30 pm

      Thanks, Meghan. xo It’s going alright. Just talking about the anxiety issues helps a tonne.

  • Megan @ Meg Go Run August 7, 2017, 12:02 pm

    I didn’t realize there were really bad wildfires there. I’m so sorry your anxiety has been bad this past week. 🙁 When I lay in bed and can’t fall asleep, all I think about are death and destruction! I don’t feel so weird now!!!

    • Megan @ Meg Go Run August 7, 2017, 2:26 pm

      Also, I do like consignment stores, especially because it is basically recycling! We consume so much STUFF, I feel less guilty if I get something that has been used already.

      • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:28 pm

        YEAH! SAME! I always sniff the armpits first though, because you can’t wash BO out.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:30 pm

      Insomniacs unite! I wish I had social media when I was a kid because then I’d be able to connect with people in different time zones so that I didn’t feel so alone when I was awake all night.

  • Amy Lauren August 7, 2017, 12:45 pm

    I actually don’t like consignment stores! I went to one this week and the store was clean and nice but the prices were so expensive. I could have spent only a few bucks more and gotten NEW clothes from those stores (off the sale rack or during a sale). Why would I buy used in that case, you know?

    I’ve read a few bloggers talking about air quality issues and not being able to go outside. I can’t imagine that. I mean it’s really hot and humid here sometimes but at least I can get out and run, even if it’s not the greatest time. I would hate to be stuck inside all the time!

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:29 pm

      I run in the morning and it’s okay, but by the afternoon the smoke gets super thick. GROSS. I want it GONE ALREADY.

  • Susie @ Suzlyfe August 7, 2017, 4:05 pm

    On the rocks, with salt, light agave.
    PLEASE please please please please be careful. I don’t want those lungs getting mucked up. You need them to yell at all your kids.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 7, 2017, 6:24 pm

      HOLLA!!!!!!

  • Ana August 8, 2017, 6:04 am

    I hope some of the smoke is clearing out!

    Buying things in consignment for kids is a very smart move! they grow out of things so quickly! Especially kids under the age of 3! I buy things from consignment shops and sell them some of my son’s clothes.

    Back in the day shopping used to help me deal with anxiety, then it went a little out of control. I was buying random things that I didn’t need, because having the power to purchase them made me feel better… now I just run and that clears my head of the anxiety… so, I’m glad that you kick those anxiety demons on the head and stay active to keep them away.

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 8, 2017, 1:26 pm

      Shopping is such a good distraction, and it’s not very destructive (not like smoking, drinking, etc) so I know a lot of people who use shopping as an escape route. Nothing wrong with it once in a while, just not all the time or our bank accounts get screwed. Plus, I guess we have to face and deal with whatever we’re anxious about anyway. SIGH.

      It’s still super smokey and there’s no end in sight. IT IS BRUTAL.

  • jade August 8, 2017, 10:54 am

    The smoke is still thick over here too, I’ve never seen anything like this in my life. Much of BC must be absolute charcoal. Margaritas on the rocks for me, all that slushy ice just dilutes the liquor, and I had one for you on the weekend, just so you know 🙂 I’m hoping you have smooth sailing until D day. xo

    • suzy.suzyheather@gmail.com August 8, 2017, 1:19 pm

      I never even thought about the ice diluting the liquor! Andrew always gets the mixed ones–I should let him know. This is newsy.

  • San August 14, 2017, 2:54 pm

    Ugh. We’re having some wildfires in the area too. It’s awful.

    I love consignment shopping (at least for certain things!)… it’s awesome.

Leave a Comment